Today I started class with a slideshow, Elements, Compounds and Mixtures from Middleschoolscience.com by Liz LaRosa.  I just went there and it looks like she’s updated the slideshow, I used the old one posted OLD PPT.  Its just a simple set of slides explaining the difference between elements, compounds and mixtures and it has a number of slides with just one picture (like sand) and the students have to guess whether its an element, compound or mixture.

img_4936After the slideshow, the students did the Elements, Compounds and Mixtures cut and paste activity from the same website.  I thought this was a nice activity to reinforce the slideshow and made them look at the diagrams of molecules and interpret what they represent.

When they were finished with that I gave them an Adopt-an-Element handout, which I found by following links from middleschoolscience.com to sciencespot.net.  For this activity the kids pick one element and have to fill out a worksheet on that element.  They are asked for the symbol, atomic number, number of protons, number of neutrons, melting point, etc.  This was a good activity because the students had to look up their elements in a periodic table, dig out chemistry books for some additional information, or use the Elements app, or the deck of element cards.   51qefhedkul-_sx462_bo1204203200_We didn’t quite get to the advertising slogan and I told them they could do that at home because we wanted time to play bingo.  Element bingo cards can be found on the Jefferson Lab website.  I randomly pulled out cards from my element deck and only gave them the real name, like Carbon and they had to guess the symbol (C) to figure out if they had it on their card.  Carbon is pretty easy but elements like Potassium (K) are a bit more challenging.  I also read out some of the interesting notes on the back of each card. We played this til almost everyone had a bingo.

 

