We did a bunch of different activities today and of course I forgot to take pictures..ugh. Since we’re starting a new threshold, the first thing kids did when they arrived was put the Threshold 6 card in their notebooks.  Then I handed them a page with 5 pictures of hominids on it and they had to cut them out and put them in order from oldest to most recent ancestor.  This Early Ancestor activity can be found on the Big History Project website.  Once they were done with that we talked about the difference between observations and inferences. I gave the following example: when I come out to the kitchen in the morning and see a bowl sitting on the counter with a bit of milk in the bottom, I observe that there is a bowl on the counter, but I can infer that my son had cereal for breakfast.  I didn’t SEE or OBSERVE him eating the cereal, but from seeing the bowl I can infer that he did.  I might be right, or I might be wrong, perhaps my husband had the cereal.  This activity was found in the Teaching Paleontology in the National Parks and Monuments: A Curriculum Guide for Teachers of the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Grade Levels.

The main activity for today was mapping fossil locations for different hominids on a world map. This activity served two purposes, it showed the kids the distribution of fossils for each group and it gave them a lot of practice using latitude and longitude to located a place on the map.  I had a lot of trouble finding this activity. Lots of websites mentioned it but the links weren’t working. I finally found a pdf with the fossil locations and map here:  Fossils and Disperal Patterns of Early Hominids.  I also printed out this image from Britannica.com so the students could see the different hominids on a timeline.

392-004-440E9DE6

The students worked in groups potting the locations on the world map – each one just plotting one type of fossil, like neanderthals for example. Then they worked together to answer questions using their maps and the timeline.

I wanted to show some videos but didn’t get around to it, so we’l start off next week with some youtube videos.

I’m going to email a link to the Becoming Human website and suggest the kids play around with it. Its got some interactive stuff and video clips that go along well with what we’re studying.

