Science classes start next week, until then,  I thought I would continue sharing some books we love because if you read as much as we do, you are probably always on the lookout for good books as well.Book-1-A-Princess-Of-Mars-1

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs is the first of a long a series of fantasy/sci-fi books that take place on Mars.  My son and I both read a dozen of these.  You may have seen the movie John Carter a few years ago… it was LOOSELY based on these books.  To be honest I had trouble enjoying the movie the first time I saw it because I was expecting it to be more like the books.    In A Princess of Mars, John Carter is a Civil War veteran who falls asleep in a cave on Earth, and wakes up on the planet Mars. His adventures start right away as he’s captured by one of the many species (see 4 armed green creature on book cover) living on Mars.  I had to laugh when I saw this book cover because the princess is not the helpless thing depicted here.  She kicks some ass and has some sass.  I found the ‘gods’ of these books very amusing.  There are multiple levels of hierarchy on Mars and the ‘gods’ of one species ends up to be just a more advanced race, taking advantage of the simpler race and enslaving them with the promise of a better afterlife.  My son and I had some interesting discussions onfree books app religion while we read these.  They do start to get a bit far fetched as you get to the last books in the series but they are a fun read and you can get most for free since they’re older books.  The first book was published in 1912.
We read most of them on the Free Books app by Digital Press Publishing on our iPads.    My son was around 12 years old when he read them.

