One of the reasons I started this blog was to document and share what we do in the classes I’m teaching this year.  The physics class starts in less than 2 weeks, so I sent out the first reading assignment:

Light and matter coverLight & Matter:  Chapter 0 & Chapter 1

I told them they may skim these chapters if they find the material familiar, or wait and read them after we have our first class.  Some kids may find it easier to read the chapters after the labs and discussion in class, so I leave it up to them.

I also found some videos that went along with these chapters and forwarded them to the students.  The first one is on scientific notation and fermi problems (making estimations).

Crash Course Chemistry has a nice video (#2) on unit conversions and significant figures.

The third video is from Vsauce3 and discusses the physics of Ant Man and what would really happen if you were shrunk.  This goes along great with the topic of scaling in Chapter 1.

Once class starts I’l be posting here each week with photos and descriptions of the labs we’re doing.  You should be able to click on the Physics menu on any page to get a list of the posts about this class.

