absolutely true diary Even though my kids are older, I still read out loud to them almost every night.  I love books and have been reading before I go to bed for as long as I can remember, so it was just natural to continue that with my kids.  They read their own books as well each night, but I read classics and historical fiction so it counts as part of literature and history.  This summer we read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie and it was fantastic.  It reminded us a bit of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid, mainly because its a kid telling you about their life with the occasional carton, but its much better than Wimpy Kid and quite a bit deeper.  This is a story about an Indian boy who decides to go to the town school off the reservation and the conflicts that causes at home on the reservation and at the school.  Its also about a boy growing up and dealing with high school, friends, family and life on a reservation.  Even though these are very serious topics, the author puts a great deal of humor in his writing and we were snickering and laughing quite a bit.  I’m sure they would have enjoyed reading this on their own, and I almost stumbled reading some of this out loud… it is about a high school boy going through puberty after all, but we all thoroughly enjoyed this story and look forward to reading more books by Sherman Alexie.

