Secularhomeschool.com led me to a post about science youtube channels from  The Big Green Chair, this morning.  They had 2 channels I hadn’t heard of before,   Sixty Symbols which looks like it should be great for our physics class this year and STEMbite which could be useful for the middle school class.  Since I love finding good YouTube channels, I thought I would share some of our science favorites and I’l be honest, my kids showed me most of these.

  1. crashcourse_7330Crash Course – we love these, all of them.  Granted some of them can go over our head but they are still entertaining, the kids enjoy watching them and always get something out of it.  The Astronomy Crash Course we’re watching now is fine for middle school and up, while the Biology and Chemistry are upper level high school – though they can still be worth watching.
  2. Veritasium – I love this guy.  I’m pretty sure my kids brought me to this channel.  Very entertaining and interesting videos on a wide range of topics.  I showed Why Women Are Stripey, about DNA and sex chromosomes, in biology class last year.
  3. SciShow – another great channel from the Green brothers (Crash Course).  I particularly like their Great Minds videos. A good portion of these feature  famous women scientists like Rosalind Franklin, Goodall, Fossey and Curie to name a few.  They also covered current events and controversies.  The have a second channel called Sci Show Space that’s obviously space related videos.
  4. Minute Physics – great explanations for physics concepts like, “What is Gravity?”, “What is Dark Matter?”, “What is Wave/Particle Duality?”.  And I love their music video, Astronomically Correct Twinkle Twinkle.
  5. In a Nutshell – Kurzgesagt, has a unique animation style that I really like and it usually gets the point across nicely.  A lot of  technology (fracking, nuclear energy)  and astronomy/astrophysics (big bang, solar system, dark energy) topics, along with a few on human immune system and evolution.
  6. The Royal Institution of Great Britain has amazing videos.  The series of Christmas lectures are geared towards family and highly entertaining – the best demos. These are long, a bit over an hour, and when I tried to show just the first 30 minutes in my class, they mutinied and insisted on watching the whole video.  These are really the cream of the crop.  The Science of Fireworks! and Chemical Curiosities: Surprising Science and Dramatic Demonstrations are two of our favorite.
  7. Science with Tyler DeWitt.  I used his videos the last time we did chemistry and will probably using some of them in our physics class this year.  He says the videos are aimed for kids in high school chemistry aiming for the SAT/AP exams.  There are a lot of channels where teachers are making videos like this, but I find most of them hard to watch, but Tyler DeWitt keeps my attention and I like his format – two views, you can see him talking in a small window but the main window is a white board where you can see what he’s writing.
  8. BBC earthBBC Earth Unplugged has a lot of slow motion  videos of animals in flight, swimming and time lapse movies of decomposition, along with regular videos explaining topics such as, “How does a Peacock Feather Shimmer?”,  great for Biology.
  9. amoeba sistersScience! with the Amoeba Sisters was a big hit with my middle school biology class last year.  There’s over 30 short low-tech videos on biology topics. They aren’t quite animated, just a series of funny cartoon images to go along with the audio but the kids liked them.
  10. And I can’t leave out True Facts by zefrank1.  You might want to screen these first, some are better for older kids.  These are very funny and have some very interesting facts about animals that you probably didn’t know.  true facts
